It seems that a lot of people perceive marketers and advertisers as money-grubbing evil-doers. They see them as an exploitation upon the capitalist system.

So my question is: Why aren’t more marketers and advertisers using this perception to their advantage?

Why the hell aren’t more marketers and advertisers using their perceived bad reputation to their advantage?

I pose this question because I believe that this marketing tactic could make Diaspora, a new Social Networking Platform, explode into something that could revolutionize the internet.

Diaspora is still under development so I figure I would give them a few suggestions:

  1. Don’t be afraid to piss Facebook fans off
  2. I cannot remember the last time an ad upset me because of its explicit content. For that matter, I cannot remember a time when my Grandmother was appalled by an ad. Isn’t that a problem? How are we stirring things up? Here is an opportunity for Diaspora.

  3. Revolt
  4. Facebook is everything new media marketers love. So that means that Diaspora has the opportunity to brand themselves as everything marketers would hate.

I know a lot of people would not appreciate this but I think that is the key advantage that could make a new social platform successful. And not only successful, but the best.

Facebook took from MySpace and MySpace took from AOL so Diaspora has a great opportunity

Even if Diaspora falls flat on their face, I still like theie idea. Because they have the chance to frame themselves as David where Facebook is already a well know Goliath. One must remember that Facebook took from MySpace and even MySpace took from AOL. So perhaps it is Diaspora’s turn to take.

I want to leave with a related question, who is going to take from Apple? Who is going to make Google the Goliath?

